ANNUAL TOWN MEETING APRIL 11, 2023

The Annual Town Meeting for Maine Township was called to order at 7:10 p.m. by Clerk Peter Gialamas. Clerk Gialamas welcomed everyone in attendance to the Maine Township 172nd Annual Town meeting.

Clerk Gialamas asked everyone to rise and the Park Ridge Boy Scouts Troop #76 presented the Colors and led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Clerk Gialamas announced that the purpose of the meeting was to inform the electorate of our Township's financial status and to act upon certain resolutions to be presented at the meeting.

Clerk Gialamas introduced his most efficient staff: Deputy Clerk Jessica Guzman, Deputy Clerk Cat Ryder, and Chief Deputy Clerk Eva Magnowski. Clerk Gialamas stated that these employees are responsible for making the Clerk's office operate smoothly and he thanked each and every one of them.

Clerk Gialamas stated that he is proud to announce that in the fiscal year 2022-2023, his office processed 1868 passport applications which generated \$45,739.77 in revenue. He mentioned that he supports Honor Flight Chicago by dedicating \$1,000 of the yearly revenue from passport processing fees. Clerk Gialamas announced that in the next couple of months, the Clerk's office plans to add a new service, which will be the sale of the License Plates Renewal Stickers. Also, Clerk Gialamas pointed out that his office has been working very hard over the past few months to update and improve the Clerk's website by adding info about our services creating easy access to the websites and applications related to these services. Clerk Gialamas invited everyone to the next National Night Out on Tuesday, August 1st. Clerk Gialamas thanked his staff and added that once again it proves how hard his staff works on a daily basis.

Next, Clerk Gialamas introduced Maine Township Elected Officials, starting with Trustees the Honorable: Kimberly Jones, Kelly Horvath, James Maher, and Asif Malik, Highway Commissioner, the Honorable Ed Beauvais, and Assessor, who was absent at the moment, the Honorable Susan Moylan Krey. Lastly, Clerk Gialamas introduced Maine Township Supervisor, the Honorable Karen Dimond.

Clerk Gialamas recognized Trustee Horvath to make a nomination for a moderator. Trustee Horvath nominated the State Senator of the 28th District, Honorable Laura Murphy to serve as Moderator of the meeting. There were no other nominations and it was seconded by Trustee Jones. The motion was approved and passed by a show of hands with voting cards.

Clerk Gialamas administered the Oath of Moderator to State Senator Laura Murphy.

Moderator Murphy stated that she was honored to be here tonight.

Moderator Murphy appointed Maine Township Trustee Maher as Parliamentarian.

Moderator Murphy asked Clerk Gialamas to present the minutes of the 2022 Annual Town Meeting for approval. Clerk Gialamas stated that the minutes were distributed earlier and requested that the minutes be approved and that the reading be waived. Trustee Jones made a motion to approve the 2022 Annual Town Meeting minutes and it was seconded by Trustee Horvath. The motion to waive the reading and approve the minutes passed by a show of hands with voting cards.

Moderator Murphy asked if there were any special meetings held during the fiscal year 2022-2023.

Clerk Gialamas stated that there was one (1) special meeting in the 2022-2023 fiscal year, on March 8th, 2023.

Moderator Murphy asked Clerk Gialamas if the Annual Financial Reports for the General Town, General Assistance, and Road & Bridge Funds were distributed before the Annual Town meeting.

Clerk Gialamas stated that the Annual Financial Reports were distributed before the Annual Town meeting.

Moderator Murphy asked Supervisor Dimond to present her Annual Report and introduce the Maine Township staff.

Supervisor Dimond presented the Supervisor's Annual Report. See attached.

Supervisor Dimond welcomed everyone at the Maine Township's Annual Town Meeting.

Supervisor Dimond stated that earlier this evening we unveiled the Township Hall's Historic Landmark Plaque that has been awarded to this building and acknowledged its long-term architectural and historical significance to the community. She pointed out that even though the building has been here for about 60 years, the township itself has been here serving the community for 173 years since 1850. Supervisor Dimond stated that she was proud and honored to be the current Supervisor of this government body that has been serving its residents for so very long. Supervisor Dimond recapped some of the many services and activities that have been provided by Mane Township during the past year thanks to our hard-working Staff, volunteers, and dedicated elected officials.

Supervisor Dimond introduced the Maine Township Departments Heads: Liz Coy who could not be at the meeting, Marie Dachniwsky, Richard Lyon, Marty Cook, Nick Kanehl, Kathy Sabbini, Mike Samaan, Nader Ghazaleh, Eddie Olewinski and Administrator Dayna Berman. She briefly presented the services of each department and their importance. All Department Heads introduced their office Staff.

Highway Commissioner Ed Beauvais introduced his department.

Supervisor Dimond gave a special recognition to the Maine Township staff for their years of service and presented a 20-year pin to Debra Babich who also accepted the 20-year pin on behalf of Liz Coy; a 15-year pin to Luz Meneses, and a 10-year pin to Marty Cook.

Supervisor Dimond and Highway Commissioner Beauvais presented a 15-year pin to the Board official, Clerk Peter Gialamas.

Highway Commissioner Beauvais presented a 15-year pin to Richard Brandes and Justin MacIntyre.

Moderator Murphy introduced the other elected officials: State Senator of the 8th District Ram Villivalam and State Representative of the 56th District Michelle Mussman.

Moderator Murphy asked Clerk Peter Gialamas to present the Sgt. Karen Lader Memorial Good Citizen Award.

Clerk Gialamas with great pleasure announced that the winner of the 2023 Sgt. Karen Lader Memorial Good Citizen Award is Dr. Teri Collins nominated by Des Plaines resident Darren Brown. Dr. Teri Collins is a founder and director of the Maine Community Youth Assistance Foundation. She has touched hundreds of youths in the Community through her efforts to educate youth and their Families on drugs and alcohol. Ms. Collins has given so much to the Maine Township's Community for many years.

Dr. Teri Collins thanked Maine Township very much and stated that she was humbled and honored to receive this award tonight. She also thanked her Family for the support.

Moderator Murphy requested that Supervisor Dimond present the resolutions for approval by the electors.

Supervisor Dimond presented Resolution 2023-5 setting the next Annual Town Meeting for April 9, 2023, at 7:00 p.m. at the Maine Township Town Hall, 1700 Ballard Road in Park Ridge. The motion was seconded by Ms. Horvath and passed by a show of hands with voting cards.

Supervisor Dimond presented Resolution 2023-6 to approve compensation for the Moderator in the amount of \$75.00. The motion was seconded by Ms. Jones and it passed by a show of hands with voting cards.

Moderator Murphy stated that she was really honored to be here at the Maine Township's Annual Town meeting and she would donate \$75 to the Maine Township Emergency Food Pantry.

Moderator Murphy announced that the business of the meeting was now concluded and asked if there were any more comments.

Moderator, Senator Laura Murphy thanked the Maine Township for all the hard work that has been done and dedication to the residents.

Clerk Gialamas thanked Senator Laura Murphy for always being a strong Maine Township supporter.

Moderator Murphy entertained a motion to adjourn the meeting and Mr. Cato moved its approval. The motion was seconded by Mr. Maher and passed on a voice vote. The meeting adjourned at 7:58 p.m.

Town Clerk